The 2015 Webby Awards

By Melissa Platero, CCNN Writer

Webby Awards vote
Internet users across the globe voted on their favorites for the People’s Voice award category.

The winners for the 19th annual Webby Awards have been announced, with Netflix and Jimmy Fallon scoring big in the “Oscars of the Internet”.

The official awards show goes down May 18, hosted by comedian Hannibal Buress. Winners were chosen by the International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences.

Judges included comedian Conan O’Brien, Tumblr founder David Karp, and Arianna Huffington of the The Huffington Post.

Among the honored winners were Grumpy Cat and the Ice Bucket Challenge, which raised millions last year for the brain and spinal cord disease called Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis, or ALS.

CollegeHumor won in the categories of best individual performance and best writing, while Funny or Die won for best humor website. HBO GO and Hulu were crowned best media streaming websites, and Kimmy Kimmel won tons of Webbys for his Halloween Candy Prank and Mean Tweets viral videos.

Images courtesy of The Webby Awards.