American Pharaoh wins 1st Triple Crown in 37 years

By Alejandro Freixes, CCNN Head Writer

American Pharaoh speeds ahead to the finish line.

A horse named “American Pharaoh” has won the first Triple Crown of Thoroughbred Racing in 37 years, becoming only the 12th horse to do so in the past century!

Horses that are thoroughbred are particularly hot-blooded, known for their speed, quick reactions, and fiery personality. When these horses are three years old, they compete in three races called the Triple Crown. Winning all of them is the biggest accomplishment a horse (and its rider, of course) can achieve!

To score a Triple Crown, a horse must beat the Kentucky Derby in Louisville, Kentucky, the Preakness Stakes in Baltimore, Maryland, and the Belmont Stakes in Elmont, New York.

The last time a horse pulled off such a feat was 1978, when “Affirmed” won just one year after “Seattle Slew” did it in 1977. That was the shortest gap between Triple Crown wins ever, since the 1973 winner “Secretariat” was the first victor since “Citation” in 1948.

Of course, the USA isn’t the only country with Triple Crown championships. Britain’s first winner was “West Australian” all the way back in 1853.  In the past 100 years, there have only been 3 Triple Crown winners in Britain, with “Gainsborough” in 1918, “Bahram” in 1937, and “Nijinsky” in 1970.

Images courtesy of Belmont Stakes Facebook.