2014 College Football Playoff and Heisman Trophy

By Alejandro Freixes, CCNN Head Writer

CFP matchups
Did your team make the cut?

For the first time ever, the 4-team College Football Playoff will determine who wins the national championship. So, who made it to the semifinals and who was crowned as the Heisman Trophy winner?

The No. 1 Crimson Tide is taking on the No. 4 Buckeyes in the Allstate Sugar Bowl, while the No. 2 Ducks will face off against the No. 3 Seminoles in the Rose Bowl.

The Big 12 is noticeably absent from the main event, and some fans are wishing for the good ol’ days of the Bowl Championship Series.

However, Big 12 commissioner Bob Bowlsby has faith that the system will improve over time. “We’re asking 12 honest people to make a judgment on who the four best are,” said Bowlsby. “You can’t empower them and then question their judgment.”

The semifinals will take place on January 1, and the winners will move on to the title match on January 12.

As for the Heisman, which is awarded each year to the most outstanding player in college football, Ducks quarterback Marcus Mariota won by a landslide. Not only did he beat out finalists Amari Cooper and Melvin Gordon with a historic 95.16% of all ballots collected, he’s the first University of Oregon student to ever win the award.

“Obviously, I had dreams about it,” expressed Marcus. “Every kid that plays football wants to be a part of this ceremony. For me, this is really a dream come true, and I’m really thankful to be here.”

Images courtesy of College Football Playoff Facebook.