Veronica Roth’s trilogy coming to an end

By Melissa Platero, CCNN Writer

Divergent images
Do you fit in… or are you a Divergent?

These next few months look amazing for Veronica Roth and her popular young adult novel series Divergent. Not only is the final installment in the trilogy, Allegiant, hitting bookshelves soon, but a movie adaptation is also getting released sometime in March.

The Divergent series focuses on Beatrice Prior, who lives in a futuristic Chicago where society is divided into five factions. Each faction is meant to uphold a particular virtue of humanity: Abnegation (those who are selfless), Amity (the peaceful), Candor (the honest), Dauntless (the brave), and Erudite (the intelligent). On a given day each year, all sixteen-year-olds must take a test that will tell them which faction they are best suited for.

After, they must decide whether or not to remain with their family or move to a new faction. Beatrice, however, is considered a “Divergent,” because she does not specifically fit into any. After being told by government officials that she cannot publicly share this information, she is given the choice to pick a faction and deal with the monsters inside her that will always wonder if she made the right choice.

For the movie adaptation, actress Shailene Woodley, who recently cut her hair for charity, stars alongside Kate Winslet and Theo James. The final book, Allegiant, will hit bookshelves October 22, while fans will have to wait until March 21, 2014 for the movie version of the series to begin.

Images and video courtesy of Divergent and Lionsgate.